124 Yoga Lane, Nirvana, USA – A Place to Call Home

It is commonly accepted that our teenage or adolescent years are when we blossom into the person that we are meant to be. That during these times we begin to see things in a more mature, educated manner in order to develop a more realistic view of the “way things are”. But for me, this mindful, life altering change is happening now, in my late twenties.

I owe this growth and realization to yoga. I have been practicing and teaching yoga for many years, but it isn’t until recently that I’ve honored the practice of yoga enough to truly adopt the theories into my thought process, and essentially my life. Yoga is not about the stretching, or funny poses (headstand, backbends, eagles…I still can’t do), but instead is about honoring the body and finding the place inside ourselves that we can call home.

I truly believe, upon talking to people, that a lot of the restlessness we feel in life is due to the fact that we don’t feel at home in our bodies. When things go wrong, or when things are turned upside down, we feel lost. This is a place we have all visited and can relate to – where do I go, what did I do wrong, what could I have done differently? But when we feel at home in our bodies, that is security. When things go wrong we are okay because we are home and we feel that love for ourselves, life and the people that decorate it.

Yoga teaches that no matter where you are or what your obstacles, you can find union – you can find yoga in your breath, body and mind. This is your home. Yoga is home. I have heard others call it an addiction, a fad, a religion, the easy way to exercise (hah!), but it has nothing to do with how my muscles look or how thin and flexible I am. In reality it is about building confidence, love, admiration and strength. Through Unique Yoga Events I am trying to share this truth.

Jamie Taylor | Owner and Founder | Unique Yoga Events, LLC

1080920_10151758861733346_1954069840_n

Leave a Reply

